## **BRYAN CITY COUNCIL**

## **January 2, 2024**

Council President Mary Leatherman opened the meeting with the following members present: Jim Kozumplik, F. John Betts, Richard Hupe, and Stephen Alspaugh. Also attending were: Mayor Carrie Schlade, City Engineer Brian Wieland, Police Chief Greg Ruskey, Street Commissioner Tyson Engstrom, Wastewater Superintendent Wes Wygant, Parks and Recreation Director Benjamin Dominique, and Clerk-Treasurer John Lehner.

Mr. Hupe moved, Mr. Kozumplik seconded, to approve the minutes from the December 18, 2024 Regular Meeting as written. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Mayor Schlade kicked off the discussion on committees by briefly explaining the role of each and who had been on each in the previous year. Further discussion was held.

Of note, due to scheduling conflicts among the Council members, Council President Leatherman agreed to serve on the Negotiations Team for the duration of the Street Department negotiation, but that the committee appointment would be reconsidered midyear.

Mr. Betts moved, Mr. Alspaugh seconded, to approve the following committees for 2024:

Budget – F. John Betts and Mary Leatherman
Finance and Audit – Jim Kozumplik and Stephen Alspaugh
Wage – F. John Betts and Richard Hupe
Tax Incentive Review – Stephen Alspaugh and Jim Kozumplik
Negotiations Team – F. John Betts and Mary Leatherman
Revolving Loan Fund – Mary Leatherman
BIPAC – Mary Leatherman
Prevailing Wage Coordinators – Brian Wieland & Tiana Traxler
Americans with Disabilities Act – Patrick Thorp

Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Ordinance No. 1, 2024, titled,

AN ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING THE PAY RATE SCALE FOR SEASONAL WORKERS IN THE PARKS AND RECREATION DEPARTMENT OF THE CITY OF BRYAN, MAKING IT EFFECTIVE JANUARY 2, 2024 AND RESCINDING ORDINANCE NO. 1, 2023.

was presented and read by title only. Parks and Recreation Director Dominique explained that the recommended changes for seasonal employee wages were largely driven by changes to the State of Ohio's minimum wage.

Mr. Kozumplik moved, Mr. Betts seconded, to suspend the reading of Ordinance No. 1, 2024, on three separate days. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Mr. Hupe moved, Mr. Alspaugh seconded, to pass Ordinance No. 1, 2024. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Ordinance No. 62, 2023, titled,

## AN ORDINANCE TO ACCEPT THE PROPOSED PLANNING AND ZONING CODE AS PREPARED BY REVEILLE LTD AND APPROVED BY THE CITY OF BRYAN PLANNING COMMISSION. (SECOND READING)

was presented and read by title only. City Engineer Wieland had nothing to add, but noted that there had not been any public input since the first reading of the Ordinance.

Ordinance No. 62, 2023 was let lie after its second reading.

Mayor Schlade reviewed each of the pending 2024 Council board appointments to be made.

Mr. Kozumplik moved, Mr. Alspaugh seconded, to appoint Mayor Schlade and Mari Ivan to the WEDCO Board for the next two-year term, 2024-2025. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Mr. Hupe moved, Mr. Kozumplik seconded, to appoint Mayor Schlade to the Maumee Valley Planning Organization Executive Committee for the next one-year term, 2024. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Mr. Betts moved, Mr. Kozumplik seconded, to appoint Megan Hall to the Williams County Combined Health Board for the next five-year term, 2024-2028. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Mr. Betts moved, Mr. Alspaugh seconded, to appoint Lynn Weiland and Kris Lowe to the City of Bryan Park Board for the next three-year term, 2024-2026. Roll call vote: all ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.

Mayor Schlade offered thanks to all who helped with the Christkindl Market, and expressed her intent to begin discussing with City Council a comprehensive strategic plan for the City of Bryan in 2024.

on a well-run first meeting, and the sentiments.	anks to all the board volunteers. Others offered similar
Mr. Alspaugh moved, Mr. Betts s ayes; nays, none. Motion carried.	econded, to adjourn the meeting. Roll call vote: all
President of Council	Clerk-Treasurer

Board Member Hupe offered support for a long-overdue comprehensive plan, welcomed Council Member Alspaugh to City Council, congratulated Council President Leatherman