City Council

Bryan City Council consists of representatives from our four city wards, one at large member and the mayor. See the current ward and precinct map.

Council meets the first and third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Bryan City Council Chambers. 

Council Members

Mayor Carrie Schlade

Learn more about the mayor.

Mary Leatherman – Ward 1

Mary began her term on January 1, 2018. She is a graduate of Edgerton High School and has been a resident of Bryan for almost 30 years. Mary is a past president of the Bryan Kiwanis Club and the Bryan Area Chamber of Commerce. She has worked at Elwood Staffing Services in Bryan since December 2011, bringing 25 years of experience in the staffing industry.

Contact Mary –

Richard Hupe – Ward 2

Rick began his term March 4, 2013. He has been a Bryan resident for more than 25 years. A former business owner, Rick currently is an administrator at Four County Career Center where he supervises courses involving manufacturing, public safety and automotive technologies. He works closely with business and industry both in his job and as a member the Northwest Ohio Development Consortium.

Rick is married to Christina, a teacher in Montpelier and they have two sons, Bryson and Ethan. Rick and his family attend St. Patrick’s Catholic Church in Bryan. He is a member of Four County Career Center Endowment Committee and the Bryan Historic Homes Association.

Contact Rick –

John Betts – Ward 3

Feroen John Betts assumed council responsibilities in January 2018. John holds a bachelor’s in psychology from Bluffton University, a master’s in rehabilitation counseling from Bowling Green State University, and completed coursework in psycho-physiology from the University of Toledo. Before retiring from Harbor Behavioral Healthcare as a vice president in 2017, John spent 43 years working in the social services and healthcare industry.
John serves as the president of the David Betts Double Play Diamond Board of Directors, is a member of the Black Swamp Benefit Board, and is a volunteer mediator with the Shalom Counseling and Mediation Center’s Victim Offender Reconciliation Program. John has spent most of his life in Bryan, where he and his wife, Joy, raised their four children: Rachel, Sarah, David and Jacob. John and Joy are members of the Zion Mennonite Church in Archbold.

Contact John –

Judy Yahraus – Ward 4

Judy began her term in January 2016. She has lived in Bryan since she was in the second grade. For 56 years she was married to her husband, Bill, who passed away in 2013. They have three sons: Brad (Sherry), Jeff (Jane), and Dan (Dottie); with nine grandchildren and three great grandchildren. Judy has been a piano teacher in Bryan for 49 years and an organist at several Bryan churches. She currently volunteers as organist at The First Church of Christ, where she is a member.

Contact Judy –

Jim Kozumplik – At Large

Jim began his term January 1, 2020, as an at-large member of city council. Jim is co-owner of fluid Handling Dynamics LTD located in Bryan, board member and second vice president of the Bryan Area Chamber of Commerce and at-large member of the Williams County Republican Central Committee. Jim is a lifelong resident of Bryan and volunteers over 300 hours a year serving on the Chamber of Commerce’s Jubilee committee, Christmas decorating committee, and many other committees that bring events to downtown Bryan. Jim is married to Kim, a marketing director with Parkview Ohio and they have one daughter, Alexis.

Contact Jim –